Donald Trump's Muslim ban does not apply to green card holders

Camille Francis
January 30, 2017

Administration officials also seemed unsure at first who was covered in the action, and a list of impacted countries was only produced later on Friday night, hours after the President signed the document at the Pentagon. "If you're traveling back and forth, you're going to be subjected to further screening".

"If you're traveling back and forth you're going to be subjected to further screening", the chief of staff said, suggesting that while green card holders were not officially included in the executive order, Customs agents would use "discretion" with such travelers.

"The executive order doesn't affect green card holders moving forward", Priebus told NBC's "Meet the Press".

A senior Trump administration official, meanwhile, said green card holders from the nations of Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen would need a waiver to return to the USA and that green card holders in the US would need to meet with a consular official before leaving the country. "President Trump's Executive Orders remain in place - prohibited travel will remain prohibited, and the USA government retains its right to revoke visas at any time if required for national security or public safety".

In addition to the people who arrived in the USA and were detained, as of 3 p.m. on Saturday, an additional 173 travelers from the listed countries had been stopped from boarding flights to the US, a Homeland Security official said in a statement.

The White House Chief of Staff, echoing an unnamed Trump Administration official who spoke with CNN on Saturday, also indicated that the seven countries on the ban list were just a starting point, and more countries may be added to the list in the future, pending a Trump Administration review process.

How many refugees has the USA taken in from Syria?
The last time a United States president placed a ban on immigrants from Muslim countries was after 9/11, when President George W. Trump took to Twitter on Tuesday to give a preview of his Wednesday activities; "Big day planned on NATIONAL SECURITY tomorrow".

"I support the US government on the other side of the world".

The countries targeted by Trump's executive order include the Muslim-majority nations of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Sudan and Yemen.

The new president on Saturday signed a lobbying ban to bar government officials from lobbying for their own agencies within five years from leaving office.

Nearly none of the terrorist attacks carried out in the United States, from the September 11 attacks to the recent spate of so-called "lone wolf" strikes, have been carried out by citizens from the countries listed in Mr. Trump's executive order.

A large crowd has gathered outside of the eastern side of the White House and chanting, "No hate, no fear, refugees are welcome here" to protest President Trump's Muslim ban.

You can read the full statement by the Department of Homeland Security here. "President Trump is not willing to get this wrong". The reason we chose the seven countries, those were the seven countries that the Congress and Obama administration identified as the seven countries being the most identifiable with risky terrorism taking place in their country. That case has convinced some legal experts that the court would uphold the new orders, but Trump has repeatedly characterized his plans in sweeping terms: an entire class of people, rather than a single person, and an explicit preference for one religious group over another.

Other reports by My Hot News

Discuss This Article